• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD hosts USDE Green Strides Best Practices Tour

LARKSPUR – The U.S Department of Education showcased Douglas County School District’s sustainability efforts this week by visiting several of our schools as part of their Green Strides Best Practices Tour.

On Tuesday September 16, staff and students at Larkspur, Flagstone and Heritage elementary schools welcomed representatives from the U.S. and Colorado Departments of Education.

The Green Strides Tour highlights what districts and schools are doing to improve the overall wellness, productivity and achievement of students through health, environmental and educational improvements. All three of the schools featured, had recently won national awards for their sustainability work.

“These awardees are doing absolutely fantastic work that should be shared,” said Andrea Suarez Falken, director of U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools. 

DCSD sustainability highlights:

  • Douglas County School District (DCSD) received Colorado’s first ever U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools District Sustainability Award in 2013.
  • U.S. Department of Education awarded its Green Ribbon Award to Larkspur (2014) and Flagstone Elementary (2012).
  • Four DCSD schools have earned the Green Flag Award from Eco-Schools USA, including Castle Rock (2014), Copper Mesa (2013), Flagstone (2013) and Heritage (2014) elementary schools.
  • $18.3 million has been saved through District sustainability efforts over seven years, including mechanical and electrical upgrades and energy conservation efforts.
  • An incentive program was launched to send some of the money saved to each of the participating schools. During the 2013-2014 School year alone $389,000 was returned to our schools.
September 18, 2014 | By rmbarber | Category: Sustainability

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.