• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD Home to 21 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship Program

DOUGLAS COUNTY – Yet another indicator of educational excellence, Douglas County School District is pleased to announce the names of 21 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. These academically talented high school seniors advance in the competition, which awards approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million. 
The goal of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence. Last year, DCSD had 16 semifinalists – the number increased this year to 21 students.
The national pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Approximately 1.4 million students entered the competition. Finalists will be announced next February, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced starting in April.
Congratulations to these outstanding DCSD students!

Sarah H. Choe, ThunderRidge High School
Kirsten V. Delany, Highlands Ranch High School
Jessica L. Dobler, Rock Canyon High School
Andrew G. Foster, Chaparral High School
Chase A. Henry, Rock Canyon High School
Samuel T. Herlin, Highlands Ranch High School
Samuel R. Hoffman, Highlands Ranch High School
Lily M. Johnson, Highlands Ranch High School
Lucas A. Laughlin, Rock Canyon High School
Brandon K. Lee, ThunderRidge High School
Andrej J. Lysak, Legend High School

Danielle M. Mayorga-Young, Ponderosa High School
Benjamin P. Murray, ThunderRidge High School
Cecilia R. Pollice, ThunderRidge High School
Spencer T. Pozder, Mountain Vista High School
Gwendolyn S. Seymour, ThunderRidge High School
Kyra E. Smart, ThunderRidge High School
Gabriel A. Tauberl, Rock Canyon High School
Paige Trexel, Douglas County High School
Megan A. Wenham, ThunderRidge High School
Arthur Zabronsky, Douglas County High School


September 16, 2014 | By SCPaulsen | Category: High School Education

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.