• Employee Resources
  • Language

Outstanding seniors honored at Administrator’s Scholarship Awards Ceremony

PARKER – Each year, Douglas County School District’s (DCSD) Administrator’s Scholarship Program honors seniors from across the district. Following a competitive nomination process, eleven outstanding students were honored last week at the DCSD Administrator’s Scholars Awards ceremony.

Many of these students are among the top performers at their schools, several overcoming great obstacles.


2016 Administrator’s Scholarship Recipients

Grayson Anderson – Castle View High School
Lauren Barbee – Plum Creek Academy
Aaron Broadus – ThunderRidge High School
Shea Davis – Legend High School
Ellette Dusck – Ponderosa High School
Hayley Funk – Mountain Vista High School
Eugene Kim – Rock Canyon High School
Cayla Mackey – eDCSD Colorado Cyber School
Olivia Pettit – Douglas County High School
Derek Rice – Chaparral High School
Da Eun “Deborah” Son - Highlands Ranch High School



One of the recipients, Shea Davis, is also a recent Missy Martin Scholarship recipient. He will be attending Arapahoe Community College.

“I see a bright future for myself,” said Grayson Anderson, who has overcome a drug addiction following his mother’s passing from breast cancer.

The Administrator’s Scholarship Program has been awarding scholarships to DCSD students for nearly 30 years. The program has distributed more than 180 scholarships and $150,000 in funds over those years.

“The scholarship and financial aid I receive is going to help me go into a medical career, which will eventually let me help more people,” said Cayla Mackey.

Each of the scholarship recipients will receive $1000 to aid with their college expenses.  

The awards are presented at the district’s annual PK12 meeting, which takes place at the Parker Arts, Culture and Events center. The meeting ended with a celebration of the 36 year career of Castle View High School principal, Dr. Jim Calhoun, who is retiring at the end of the school year.

May 12, 2016 | By CSilberman | Category:

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.