• Employee Resources
  • Language

Five DCSD Teachers Honored by Boettcher Foundation

student speaking at podium, teacher looking at her proudly.

DENVER - The Boettcher Foundation recently honored 42 Colorado teachers for the significant impact they have had on some of Colorado’s top students – with five of the teachers coming from the Douglas County School District.

Every year, the Boettcher Foundation allows each scholarship recipient to acknowledge the teacher who has had the greatest impact on the student’s life. During a special ceremony at the Denver Botanic Gardens, each Boettcher Scholar shared moving stories and thoughtful remarks about his or her teacher.

“Colorado’s kids deserve teachers who are driven and passionate about the work they do,” said Tiffany Anderson, the Boettcher Foundation’s scholarship program director. “The 42 teachers selected by our newest scholars have championed excellence in their classrooms, and we are proud to recognize them for helping our scholars get to where they are today.”

Congratulations to the following DCSD educators who were recently honored as Boettcher Teacher Recognition Award recipients:

  • Roger Felch, Castle View High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Jenna Trost)
  • Katherine Hartline, Rock Canyon High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Sydney Marchando)
  • Cynthia Henderson, Legend High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Niketna Vivek)
  • Brent Jackson, Legend High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Ansh Desai)
  • Janna Robinett, Rock Canyon High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Ryan Vandersmith)

Felch and Robinett are multiple-year recipients of this honor.

Each teacher will receive a $1,000 grant from the Boettcher Foundation to be used toward an educational program or project to benefit students at the teacher’s school. This is the 26th year for the awards program.


Photos courtesy Lynn Clark Portraits 

August 16, 2017 | By CSilberman | Category: Human Resources for Employees, High School Education, Human Resources, Schools

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.