• Employee Resources
  • Language

Douglas County Schools Receive CDE Awards, Recognized for Green Ribbon

CASTLE ROCK, CO – The Colorado Department of Education recognized Douglas County schools at the 2013 School and District Performance Awards, held on December 3 in Denver.

23 schools received the John Irwin Award, which is given based on demonstrated excellent academic achievement.  The Governor’s Distinguished Improvement Award was given to 12 schools and is based on demonstrated exceptional student growth.  Of these 35 schools, six schools received both the John Irwin and Governor's Distinguished Improvement Awards.

“I am honored to be able to share this tremendous achievement with our teachers, students and parents,” Buffalo Ridge Elementary School principal Sarah McAfee.  “This award recognizes that hard work and dedication determines success in learning.  Our students' success is a tribute to the diligent work of our teachers and staff. “

In addition, the CDE recognized the Douglas County School District for being the only school district in Colorado to be awarded the national Green Ribbon School District Award, which was given by the U.S. Department of Education earlier this year.

"Earning the District Green Ribbon Award for Sustainability is a tremendous honor, which our students and staff have earned through their hard work and dedication,” said Lee Smit, sustainability manager for the Douglas County School District.  “Our District leadership has provided the support and foundation from which we were able to build the programs we have today.  We are proud of what we have accomplished, and we continue to grow and improve on what we have achieved."

2013 Douglas County School District’s School and District Performance Awards

2013 Green Ribbon Schools Award
·       Douglas County School District

John Irwin & Governor's Distinguished Improvement Awards
·       Parker Core Knowledge Charter (Parker, CO)
·       Highlands Ranch High (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Northridge Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Redstone Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Saddle Ranch Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Stone Mountain Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)

John Irwin Award
·       Academy Charter (Castle Rock, CO)
·       American Academy (Castle Pines/Parker, CO)
·       Bear Canyon Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Buffalo Ridge Elementary (Castle Rock, CO)
·       DCS Montessori Charter (Castle Rock, CO)
·       Heritage Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Mountain Ridge Middle (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Mountain Vista High (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       North Star Academy (Parker, CO)
·       Pine Grove Elementary (Parker, CO)
·       Platte River Charter Academy (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Rock Canyon High (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Rocky Heights Middle (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Summit View Elementary (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       ThunderRidge High (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Timber Trail Elementary (Castle Rock, CO)
·       Wildcat Mountain Elementary (Littleton, CO)

Governor's Distinguished Improvement Award
·       Acres Green Elementary School (Littleton, CO)
·       Copper Mesa Elementary School (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Cougar Run Elementary School (Highlands Ranch, CO)
·       Flagstone Elementary School (Castle Rock, CO)
·       Lone Tree Elementary (Lone Tree, CO)
·       Soaring Hawk Elementary School (Castle Rock, CO)

For more information:

·       CDE Information on the John Irwin Award (link)
·       CDE Information on the Governor’s Distinguished Improvement Award (link)
·       CDE news release on the Green Ribbon Award (link)
·       DCSD news release on the Green Ribbon Award (link)

Douglas County School District is Colorado's third largest school district, serving over 65,000 students.  Visit the District website


January 21, 2014 | By rmbarber | Category: Communications

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.