• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD wins several national student-journalism awards

BOSTON – Douglas County School District (DCSD) had quite a showing at the National High School Journalism Convention, November 14-17—winning two national awards and placing in several other categories.

At the awards ceremony, held in Boston during the national Journalism Education Association (JEA) / National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) Fall Convention, Mountain Vista High School students accepted the NSPA’s Pacemaker Award, for their ‘Eagle Eye’ newsmagazine.

Emily MacLean (pictured), who is now a freshman at Douglas County High School, was selected for first place in the Middle School Picture of the Year contest. MacLean traveled to Boston with three other DCSD middle school students who were selected as finalists in NSPA’s Picture of the Year contest. In the Middle School division there are only ten finalists nationally, so it was astounding that four of them were from Douglas County.

Equally amazing is the fact that this is the sixth consecutive year that Sierra has had at least one finalist and the fourth year that Sierra has had two finalists in the competition.

Douglas County Picture of the Year Finalists
Connor Chase
Sierra Middle School

Emily MacLean
Mesa Middle School

Alexandra Merrill
Sierra Middle School

Brina Sandoval
Rocky Heights Middle School

All four were honored during the ceremony, but Emily MacLean, who is now a freshman at Douglas County High School, was selected for first place in the competition.

Mesa Middle School also placed second and Rocky Heights third in the Best of Show yearbook competition.

Finally, several Douglas County students were honored in JEA’s annual WriteOff, including the following:

Amani Brown - Mountain Vista - Honorable Mention - Feature Writing
Dylan Ingram - Mountain Vista - Excellent - News Editing
Brian Waite - Legend - Excellent - Yearbook Copy/Captions Academics
Vanessa Campuzano - Legend - Honorable Mentions - Yearbook Copy/Captions Clubs
Kaitlin Zenoni - Mountain Vista - Excellent - Sports Writing
Wes Edwards - Mountain Vista - Excellent - Press Law and Ethics
Gretchen Cope - Mountain Vista - Honorable Mention – Newswriting

About the JEA/NSPA Conference
The National High School Journalism Convention is a semi-annual gathering of high school journalists and advisers sponsored by National Scholastic Press Association and its partner, the Journalism Education Association. The association’s partner to prepare nearly 400 practical and professional learning sessions, from high-profile keynotes to specific, problem-solving breakouts, hands-on workshops and discussion groups. Other convention activities include an exhibit hall with vendors who sell to student media, JEA’s on-site Write-off contests, NSPA’s Best of Show contest, receptions, awards convocations, critiques, career roundtables and evening entertainment.

Breakout sessions for students from all media types — newspaper, online, broadcast, yearbook and magazine — are planned to meet the publishing and broadcasting needs of all scholastic student media. Some are specifically for advisers, administrators or middle school students. Whether it’s ethics and law, technology and design, advertising and business operations, photography and art or just the basics of news writing and reporting, this convention covers the bases.

With typical attendance of more than 4,000 delegates, the JEA/NSPA convention has become the place to seek solutions to the most challenging publishing and broadcasting problems, share and celebrate success stories, see what’s new in the media marketplace, discover trends and network with students and advisers from throughout the United States.

November 21, 2013 | By rmbarber | Category: Communications

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.