• Employee Resources
  • Language

Boettcher Foundation honors DCSD teachers

DOUGLAS COUNTY - Four DCSD teachers are in a class of their own, after being named recipients of the 2014 Boettcher Foundation's Teacher Recognition Award. The teachers were nominated by their former students, who are now Boettcher Scholars.

The students are encouraged to acknowledge a school staff member who made a profound impact on their lives and helped, in part, lead to their success. Each scholar gets to nominate one staff member.

“All of us at the Boettcher Foundation recognize that teachers have one of the most important jobs there is, and this is our way of thanking them for their dedication and commitment to their profession, and for the countless hours they devote to their students,” said Boettcher Scholarship Program Director Tiffany Anderson.

In total, 40 Colorado teachers were honored by the Boettcher Foundation. Each teacher receives a $1,000 grant for educational programs or projects benefitting students, as well as a plaque recognizing the achievement.

Congratulations to the following DCSD Boettcher Teachers:

  • Jennifer Driessen, Highlands Ranch High School (nominated by Francis Commercon)
  • Roger Felch, Castle View High School (nominated by Madeline Walden)
  • Susan McGuinn, ThunderRidge High School (nominated by Elisabeth Collins)
  • Emily Muellenberg, Highlands Ranch High School (nominated by Paul Marchando)


          Driessen                                 Felch                                  McGuinn                               Muellenberg

August 21, 2014 | By pmhans | Category: Castle View High School, Highlands Ranch High School, ThunderRidge High School, District, High School Education, Schools, World Class Education

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.