• Employee Resources
  • Language

Athletics and the girls who pursue them to be highlighted at annual event

Girl basketball player

PARKER — An annual celebration of female athletes will represent the “passing of the torch” from high school seniors to their middle school successors.

The 9th Annual Douglas County Girls and Women in Sports Luncheon, presented in conjunction with the Douglas County Educational Foundation (DCEF), will be held Friday, January 17 at Chaparral High School in Parker. This special event recognizes a contingent of 90 girls who have demonstrated the value that participation in a sport has brought to their education.

Eighth-grade middle school girls were selected for acclaim by coaches and administrators at each school, based on their participation in a school sport, demonstration of good sportsmanship, and the ability to balance athletic involvement with academics.

High school seniors who have demonstrated a prominent leadership role in their school, academic excellence, and notable athletic achievements were selected by school coaches, athletic directors and other school faculty to receive commendation.

In addition to highlighting exemplary students, three outstanding adults will be honored for inspiring excellence in athletes. Each of the honorees listed below has been instrumental in the development of leadership ability, organizational skills and good sportsmanship in Douglas County athletes.

Leslie Clemensen
Volleyball and Basketball Coach
Ponderosa High School

Toby Tabola
Softball Coach
Ponderosa High School

Terrin Kelly
Game Announcer; Track Timing Technician
ThunderRidge High School

While the luncheon is a forum for recognizing outstanding DCSD athletes and the adults who support them, there is motivation factor that accompanies the day.

“Middle school girls may not continue with sports when they enter high school,” said Ann Orcutt, one of the event’s coordinators.

“We hope that when they see the amazing accomplishments of the high school girls, they will realize how much they can achieve–both in athletics and in academics. It is wonderful to see all of the kids on the day of the event, and realize how much they have learned through participation in a sport,” Orcutt said.

Douglas County School District Athletic Director Derek Chaney will open the program and CHSAA Assistant Commissioner Bethany Brookens and former DCSD Athletic Director Dave Mumper will be on hand to recognize honorees. Colorado Rockies Commentator Jenny Cavnar will be the Mistress of Ceremonies.

The Girls and Women in Sports Luncheon is an extension of National Girls and Women in Sports Day (NGWSD), which was chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1986 to honor female athletic achievement and recognize the importance of sports and fitness participation for all girls and women. The 28th Annual NGWSD will be observed on February 5.

2014 Girls and Women in Sports Representatives

Castle View High School

Danielle Chaney
Elizabeth Franco Taura
Sarah Good

Shannon Hickey
Jessica McGovern

Castle Rock Middle School

Lauren Lewis
Stacia McKinney
Emily Meek

Kelly Vandekoppel
Megan Wittich

Chaparral High School

Jaylen Adams
Natalie Baker
Jessica Gonzalez

Jordan Lind
Madison Nash

Cimarron Middle School

Alexa Benglen
Genevieve Hier
Abigail Hildenbrand

Madison Lamb
Hannah Mill

Douglas County High School

Caitlin Dunne
Marianna Haneke
Courtney Iida

Gabrielle Scariano
Stevie Lynn Whitaker

Cresthill Middle School

Ana Azcarraga Garza
Allison Conor
Megan Koch

Samantha Krusoe
Jennifer Lacroix

Highlands Ranch High School

Kennady Bullock
Macy Kreutz
Gabrielle Liedy

Ciera Morgan
Jennifer Plummer

Mesa Middle School

Megan Miller
Lauren Shields
Juliana Vier

Olivia Vier
Brenna Weld

Legend High School

Danielle Arnold
Stephanie Cardona
Kaley Garcia

Nicole Kennedy
Robyn Leighton

Mountain Ridge Middle School

Isabella Brown
Allison Chipman
Tara Minatta

Katelyn Sager
Casadee Subart

Mountain Vista High School

Mikalah Hughes
Rachel Johnson
Molly Reicher

Carinne Turner
Maddison Wilmes

Ranch View Middle School

Shannon Bauer
Renee Broadus
Morgan Ellis

Grace Wenham
Alissa Wilcox

Ponderosa High School

Abigail Eustace
Brittany Glantz

Anne Severson
Kiralea Trombly

Rocky Heights Middle School

Megan Dennerlein
Synnove Herrin
Lauren Kelly

Rachael Merrill
Bailee Stones

Rock Canyon High School

Jillian Finnerty
Phoebe Schneider
Lexy Thorderson

Victoria Vanderpoel
Kaycie Young

Sagewood Middle School

Madison Gomez
Jessica Searle
Sydney Waite

Cassidy Wendholt
Madison Zimmerman

ThunderRidge High School

Sierra Dinges
Katie Furman
Taylor Reiner

Tristyn Sells
Mary Trizna

Sierra Middle School

Mary Dyson
Meghan Gordon
Kharis Rhodes

Allison Schlegel
Allyson Swain


January 15, 2014 | By SCPaulsen | Category: Athletics and Activities

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.