• Employee Resources
  • Language

Congratulations to the 2016 Apple Award School Representatives!

CASTLE ROCK – The Douglas County Educational Foundation has released the names of the individuals who have been named as 2016 Apple Award representatives.

The teachers and support staff members listed below were chosen from this year’s field of Apple Award nominations, submitted by members of the Douglas County School District community. 

Next, a committee made up of representatives from across the District will gather to select finalists.

Those finalists and the Apple Award winners will be announced on Saturday, March 5, during the ceremony at the Sheraton Downtown Denver. More information about the ceremony and the award categories is available on the Apple Awards page.

School/Department Certified Representative  Classified Representative
Academy Charter School Karen Borgsmiller Ann Freiberger
Acres Green Elementary School Karen Swaen Peg O'Keefe
Acres Green Elementary School   Carol Kendall
American Academy - Castle Pines Benji Billman Donna Loy
American Academy - Parker Reandra Friesen Josh Mormon
American Academy - Parker Mikki Woods  
Arrowwood Elementary Lesa Little Rebecca VonDuerring
Aspen View Academy Shelby Pfleiger Carmen Rodriguez
Aspen View Academy Traci Waters  
Before and After School Enterprise Programs   Valerie Oss
Bear Canyon Elementary School Laura Deba Rhonda Lundberg
Ben Franklin Academy Beth Konesky Halsley Hoff
Buffalo Ridge Elementary School Amy Brunk Linae Schakel
Castle Rock Elementary School Erin DiGeorge Ruby Romero
Castle View High School Stephanie Hill Ed Lee
Challenge to Excellence Charter School Jennifer Shaffer Mike Unger
Cherokee Trail Elementary School Sandra Holliefield Karen Nottingham
Cherry Valley Elementary School Diane Meeks Louanne Cason
Chaparral High School Erin Anderson Tracie Stevens
Cimarron Middle School Suzanne Rogers Donna DeGroot
Clear Sky Elementary School Rachel Woodbury Nicole Jones
Copper Mesa Elementary School Jessi Keller Melynda Sprockett
Cougar Run Elemenary School Karen Foreman Tina Granato
Coyote Creek Elementary Kaitlin Shock Ann Horan
Cresthill Middle School Linda Jardinico Stephanie Young
Castle Rock Middle School Yvonne Miller Roberta Andrews
Daniel C. Oakes High School Jules Daley  
DCS Montessori Charter School Lisa Albert Elone Visscher
DCS Montessori Charter School Lindsay Etter  
Douglas County High School Leah Yates Shannon Ford
Eagle Academy Andrew Granat Claudia Delgado
Eagle Ridge Elementary School Jill Cahenzli Brian Cortez
Early Childhood Education Kristie Malone-Hepting Nancy Bass
eDCSD Wanda Wilson  
Eldorado Elementary School Julie Holtz Rebecca Collins
Fox Creek Elementary School Lindsey Moore Kathy Donder
Flagstone Elementary School Tamara Jaimes Johanna Davey
Franktown Elementary School Heidi Tillman  
Frontier Valley Elementary School Kelly Bromeier Debby Beemster
Global Village Academy Milette Chapman Lizandy Navarro
Gold Rush Elementary School Stephanie Brown Christine Schwalik
Heritage Elementary School Amanda Frasier Derek Shaw
Highlands Ranch High School Brad Odice Sue Dakovich
HOPE Online Learning Academy  Amy Nartowicz Victoria Aquilar
Human Resources   Rachel Dreiling
Information Technology   Brian Berner
Iron Horse Elementary School Tera Mendelsohn Carlos Ayala
Larkspur Elementary School Kristin Caldwell Brooke Homrighausen
Legacy Point Elementary School Kevin Colson Stephanie Fittje
Legend High School Amanda Bucher Joan Stewart
Lone Tree Elementary School Toni Gibson Susan Howell
Mammoth Heights Elementary School Heather Fuentes Pam Strong
Meadow View Elementary School Carol Eschen Chuck Beckman
Mesa Middle School Diane Bache Dina Stahl
Mountain Ridge Middle School Michelle Grissom Maria Najera
Mountain Vista High School Lindsey Jaffe - Miller  Deanne McLendon
Mountain View Elementary School Joanne Horber Connie Mueller
North Star Academy Ann Brna Carla Smith
Northeast Elementary School Megan Horn Shannon Mason
Northridge Elementary School Tricia Ingle Tripper Atherton
Nutrition Services   Laurie Troutman
Parker Core Knowledge Charter School Jenni Zajac  
Personalized Learning Jon Smith  Arlene Williams
Pine Grove Elementary Velinda Gerfen Jose Serrano
Pine Lane Elementary Kathy Kaminky Mary Curfman
Pioneer Elementary School Sarah Slaght Audrey Giesing
PK-12   Ann Orcutt
Platte River Academy Jenny Gambill  
Plum Creek Academy Stacey Loos Sara Parkes
Ponderosa High School Dr. Mark Thorsen  Colleen Barber
Ponderosa High School Tim Ottmann  
Prairie Crossing Elementary School Kimberly Bennett Sara Clay
Ranch View Middle School Steven Carson Priscilla Lampe
Redstone Elementary School Lori Hoellen Paula Friborg
Renaissance Magnet School Jill Fisch Julie Vrattos
Rocky Heights Middle School Angie Burt Jodi Laurienti
Rock Canyon High School Kristi Rathbun Carolina Aguirre
Rock Ridge Elementary School Wendy Weiss Robin Chadwick
Roxborough Intermediate School Kelly Marine Courtney Ludwig
Roxborough Primary School Jonna Seifert Heather Stolba
Saddle Ranch Elementary School Lisa Singh Lisa Kuta
Sage Canyon Elementary School Kris Diamond Tammy O'Brien
Sagewood Middle School Jennifer Hawkins (Needham) Martha Crawford
Sand Creek Elementary School Joanie Smith Kristina Hatcher
Sedalia Elementary School Kathy Prior Beth Church
Sedalia Elementary School   Deborah Knapp
Sierra Middle School Brent Sheffield Terri Bryant
SkyView Academy, Secondary Janet Worley  
SkyView Academy, Elementary Janie Harvey  
Soaring Hawk Elementary School Tim Pratt Susan Girard
South Ridge Elementary School Cary Meuli  
STEM School & Academy Cameron Ryan Sarah Powell
Stone Mountain Elementary School Sarah Cooksey Mary Auerbach
Summit View Elementary School Amy Holton Helen Boe Tracy DeMeo
Timber Trail Elementary School Tony Greene Karen Tarutis
Trailblazer Elementary School Dee Faltys Randi Smiertelny
Transportation n/a Georgia Padilla
ThunderRidge High School Olivia Holland Nancy Plamp
WIldcat Mountain Elementary School Jill Winter Nelson Caloca
World Compass Academy Samantha Tracy  
December 2, 2015 | By rmbarber | Category: Apple Awards, District

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.