• Employee Resources
  • Language

2017 Apple Awards caps off a celebratory Teacher and Staff Appreciation Week

On stage at Apple Awards, Mike Weaver shaking hands with emcee. Steve Cook and Erin Kane on left hand side.

CASTLE ROCK - It was a celebratory tone at the 2017 Apple Awards ceremony, sponsored by the Douglas County Educational Foundation, as Douglas County School District employees-- from principals, to teachers, to support and administrative staff capped off Employee Appreciation Week. More than 600 DCSD employees filled the Event Center at Douglas County Fairgrounds to honor Apple Award representatives who have demonstrated educational excellence in the classroom and behind the scenes.

This year's ceremony, emceed by Fox31 Denver Anchor, Kirk Yuhnke, was moved from its usual late-winter timeslot to coincide with Employee Appreciation Week, typically celebrated the first week of May in DCSD. Additionally, the nomination period this year was extended to nine weeks in order to provide the community with a longer window of time to nominate their favorite teachers and school staff.

Out of the more than 8,000 nominations made, 88 Apple Representatives from schools and departments were selected by the Foundation in February. Of this outstanding group of education leaders, six individuals were awarded with an Apple Award at last night's ceremony.

View all of the award-winners below, and watch each video to learn more about each individual!

View photos from the evening here


2017 Classified School Employee of the Year - Dee St. John, Early Childhood 

2017 Classified Department Employee of the Year - Jose Suarez, Operations and Maintenance 

2017 Community Partner of the Year - Westerra Credit Union 

2017 Administrator of the Year - Michael Weaver, Mountain Vista High School 

2017 Secondary Educator of the Year - Heather Berry, Highlands Ranch High School 

2017 Elementary Educator of the Year - Jane Lenz, Timber Trail Elementary 


The Douglas County Education Foundation also unveiled a new name and look at the ceremony. While the same mission of supporting Douglas County schools will be maintained, the organization is now called the The Foundation for Douglas County Schools. Learn more and view the new look below.


May 5, 2017 | By CSilberman | Category: Apple Awards

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.